Inglorious

Well … even in my life isn’t everything straight. There are things I’m not very proud of. Pay-it-forward was somthing like that. It was a project that run through all knitting blogs in 2007 and 2008. Remember?

I was pretty late, started that activity in May 2008. I was so enthusiastic! In June I voted who will win something. I was still so keen. 6 months time to sent the 3 winners a self made present. But then I started doubting … what should I make? No dishcloth, no socks. Toooo simple. It should be a challange for myself. But not a too big project. So what???

Summer passed by, fall came. I got an idea: BOBBIN LACE! But until I finished  the 3 presents it snowed already. Too late to send my winners the real fall related presents. Ok … what now? New projects have to be started. I wasn’t very creative that time. And time passed by fast … At the end of the year, when everyone makes decisions what to change in the new year, I said: OK, I WILL finish that project! … Time kept on passing by … week by week … month by month …

One of the winners sent me a real pissed letter (of course, she was right but it hurt me), the both others didn’t write at all. They were too polite or probably thought they won’t get anything anyway.

But “I” NEVER forgot that project! In opposite. It was a big heavy burden on my shoulders. I didn’t feel well about my lazyness. Was it a creativity-depression I got caught in??? And it really didn’t matter that I never got a present myself. I actually had forgotten already that I won a present in anothers blog.

well … however … finally, FINALLY I had an idea, I got the will and lust to do it, I even got the time. EVEN the material was at home. Instantly I had SOOOO much fun doing it! What a relief and joy!My challenge was to knit lacy doilies. Lace knitting isn’t  my favourite. I don’t like the big patterns, you have to count every stitch, and check everything on the pattern. But on the other hand I really like knitted (ok, not only knitted) doilies. So: Time to exercise!!! I knitted 3 different doilies. The counting work wasn’t too hard. Yes, I really liked this job.

Those doilies are on the way to their winners. Hopefully they’ll like it. I want to tell them Thank you for your patience, for reading my blog, for commenting there.

I learned a big lesson: Should I ever join an activity like that I’ll MAKE something first and THEN raffle it off. In gereral I think it’s a great idea to say thankyou to my readers from time to time and give blog candys away.

By the way … the doilies … I love them (size, pattern AND color) so much that I think about knitting them again for my own use. Would be nice to have a set for my own house.

Unfortunately I didn’t make pictures from the presents before I sent them. I stole one from Anabel, one of the winners:

Leave a comment